Just do it

Today was my first run in 2 weeks.  It felt amazing…well at the beginning and at the very end.

I hadn’t run in ages.  Too many things kept getting in the way.  At first it was my hips.  They’re still making their way back to their pre-pregnancy state and running simply aggravates this process.  Then there was our biggest family decision to date.  We bought a house.  It was a very quick decision.  We were not planning on purchasing any property but knew we wanted to move.  Our 2 bedroom condo was getting cluttered and the kitchen was way too small to cook in.  I wanted to give our children their own home, with their own yard and eventually their own bedrooms.  In the midst of training an opportunity arose and there we were looking at our first home and signing papers to reserve it.  They gave us 2 weeks to arrange a mortage and all the finances.  Mortgage?  I only figured out what a mortgage was just 2 years ago and now I had to shop for a mortgage broker, learn all about fixed and variable rates and work the budget to death.  All day long for 2 weeks I was making phone calls, doing research and getting a little stressed.  I didn’t have the time to run!  At first, I cut myself some slack for not running.  I was sore and I was tired.  Edmund had a cold and then Amelie got sick so there really was no sleep.  No big deal.  I will run when I can.  But then I couldn’t find the time and then I lost any desire to run at all.  I was too tired, I was unmotivated and I couldn’t get my head around it.

I started hearing about all the success of other women who are also in training.  They were reaching 7km, 10km, 16km.  I was stuck at my 5km mark!!  How on earth will I do this?  I reached out to ask for prayer from the girls to help me get motivated and they were really encouraging.  But one voice of wisdom stuck out:  “don’t think about it, just put your runners on and run.”  I love it when you don’t get the superspiritual answer.  There is a time to pray but at the end of the day, God gave us legs to use.  Too often I can remember at bible college going to a friend and saying “I’m having a really hard time with…..” and their answer was “I’ll pray for you” or “talk to God” and they’d walk off.  What a copout! Like I said before, there is a time for talking to God and a time to ask for prayer but God gave us other people to talk to and often uses them to help us through our challenges.  All I needed was a good friend to talk to or maybe a pep talk to ‘snap out of it.’  The other She Loves girls could have said “we’ll pray for you that God will give you motivation” but at the end of the day I just need to stop thinking about it and put my runners on and run.  We should apply this principle to so many other things in life.

The homeless need feeding but we say ‘I need to pray about it’ or women are being ostrasized from society because their faces have been mutilated and need someone to stand up for their cause and we say…. “I need to pray about it”.  Well guess what?  There are many things we actually don’t need to pray about.  The bible says

Deuteronomy 15:7, 11
If there is a poor man among your brothers in any of the towns of the land that the LORD your God is giving you, do not be hardhearted or tightfisted toward your poor brother. There will always be poor people in the land. Therefore I command you to be openhanded toward your brothers and toward the poor and needy in your land.

Proverbs 31:8-9                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for the rights of all who are destitute. Speak up and judge fairly; defend the rights of the poor and needy.

So why ask God?  He already told you.  Most of the time when I hear this answer its because people are looking for an excuse to not do it.  I was saying ‘I can’t run because I’m not motivated’ when in reality I just didn’t feel like it.  Nike was on to something when they said Just Do It! I should know better.  I signed up for this.  I wanted to run for a cause.  I want to speak for those who cannot speak for themselves.

So today I didn’t think about it. I just got my runners on and ran.

Todays upbeat running song:

2 thoughts on “Just do it

  1. You.did.it!!! I am so proud. WOOOOOOHOOOOOO! It is really hard to get up the nerve to hit those sidewalks after a break. Especially since you have so many balls in the air! The move is a BIG deal.

    And you did it!

    *sigh*

    FYI: My run was brutal today. I was done in 15 mins (if that helps). I stuck with it but not without a big slobbery weepathon in the park. Serious basketcase. This running thing is not for sissies.

    xoxo,
    T

  2. GREAT post Kat. I love how transparent you are…it is so encouraging. So true- we don’t have to pray about helping others because God COMMANDED us to! On a personal note when I heard about this half-marathon and cause, I felt in my spirit that I had to do it. Didn’t need to pray, because I knew God was telling me to do it. He would help me with it, but I needed to just do it. (no pun intended here, honest!) Looking forward to hearing more of your progress.

Leave a Reply

